Call To Action- Week 1

Week 1- Communicate Smarter Balanced Assessment Concerns To Legislators

Fellow Wyoming Citizens,

The Select Committee on Statewide Education Accountability will be meeting again December 10 & 11 in Cheyenne. It is time once again, to speak to our elected officials about the concerns we have with the federally funded assessment, Smarter Balanced (SBAC). It is critical to contact these elected officials and voice your concern with Wyoming’s participation in SBAC.

To preview the minutes from the committee’s last meeting in October, click here:

http://legisweb.state.wy.us/interimCommittee/2013/SEAMIN1022.pdf

For your convenience, we have provided a list of 3 items that you can choose from to address a letter to this committee. This letter does not have to be lengthy, and can be as simple as asking the committee to not move forward with Smarter Balanced in the subject line of your email. You can also choose to research the specific issues more thoroughly before submitting your letter, and a source for each statement is provided for your use.

Please send the email to the Select Committee and “cc”  the entire legislature and Governor Mead.

Select Committee (copy and paste these into “To” line):

Jim.Anderson.SD02@wyoleg.gov, Hank.Coe@wyoleg.gov,

Bill.Landen@wyoleg.gov, Phil.Nicholas@wyoleg.gov, Chris.Rothfuss@wyoleg.gov,

steve.harshman@wyoleg.gov, Mike.Madden@wyoleg.gov, Tim.Stubson@wyoleg.gov,

Matt.Teeters@wyoleg.gov, Mary.Throne@wyoleg.gov

Governor Mead (copy and paste this into “CC” line):
governor@wyo.gov

Wyoming Legislature (copy and paste these into “CC” line):
Mark.Baker@wyoleg.gov, Eric.Barlow@wyoleg.gov, Rosie.Berger@wyoleg.gov,

Stan.Blake@wyoleg.gov, Dave.Blevins@wyoleg.gov, Gregg.Blikre@wyoleg.gov,

Kermit.Brown@wyoleg.gov, Donald.Burkhart@wyoleg.gov, James.Byrd@wyoleg.gov,

Rita.Campbell@wyoleg.gov, Richard.Cannady@wyoleg.gov,

Kathy.Coleman@wyoleg.gov, Cathy.Connolly@wyoleg.gov,

Kathy.Davison@wyoleg.gov, John.Eklund@wyoleg.gov, Ken.Esquibel@wyoleg.gov,

Lee.Filer@wyoleg.gov, John.Freeman@wyoleg.gov, Gerald.Gay@wyoleg.gov,

Keith.Gingery@wyoleg.gov, Patrick.Goggles@wyoleg.gov, Mike.Greear@wyoleg.gov,

Matt.Greene@wyoleg.gov, Marti.Halverson@wyoleg.gov, Elaine.Harvey@wyoleg.gov,

Hans.Hunt@wyoleg.gov, Lynn.Hutchings@wyoleg.gov, Allen.Jaggi@wyoleg.gov,

Norine.Kasperik@wyoleg.gov, Dan.Kirkbride@wyoleg.gov,

Kendell.Kroeker@wyoleg.gov, Samuel.Krone@wyoleg.gov, Lloyd.Larsen@wyoleg.gov,

Tom.Lockhart@wyoleg.gov, Bunky.Loucks@wyoleg.gov, Tom.Lubnau@wyoleg.gov,

Robert.McKim@wyoleg.gov, David.Miller@wyoleg.gov, Glenn.Moniz@wyoleg.gov,

Bob.Nicholas@wyoleg.gov, David.Northrup@wyoleg.gov, John.Patton@wyoleg.gov,

Jerry.Paxton@wyoleg.gov, Ruth.Petroff@wyoleg.gov, Garry.Piiparinen@wyoleg.gov,

Tom.Reeder@wyoleg.gov, Mark.Semlek@wyoleg.gov, Albert.Sommers@wyoleg.gov,

Sue.Wallis@wyoleg.gov, Tom.Walters@wyoleg.gov, Stephen.Watt@wyoleg.gov,

Sue.Wilson@wyoleg.gov, Nathan.Winters@wyoleg.gov, David.Zwonitzer@wyoleg.gov,

Dan.Zwonitzer@wyoleg.gov, Jim.Anderson.SD28@wyoleg.gov,

Paul.Barnard@wyoleg.gov, Eli.Bebout@wyoleg.gov, Bruce.Burns@wyoleg.gov,

Cale.Case@wyoleg.gov, Leland.Christensen@wyoleg.gov, Stan.Cooper@wyoleg.gov, Bernadine.Craft@wyoleg.gov, Dan.Dockstader@wyoleg.gov,

Ogden.Driskill@wyoleg.gov, Fred.Emerich@wyoleg.gov, Floyd.Esquibel@wyoleg.gov,

Gerald.Geis@wyoleg.gov, John.Hastert@wyoleg.gov, Larry.Hicks@wyoleg.gov,

John.Hines@wyoleg.gov, Wayne.Johnson@wyoleg.gov, Curt.Meier@wyoleg.gov,

Leslie.Nutting@wyoleg.gov, Drew.Perkins@wyoleg.gov, Ray.Peterson@wyoleg.gov,

Tony.Ross@wyoleg.gov, John.Schiffer@wyoleg.gov, Charles.Scott@wyoleg.gov,

Michael.VonFlatern@wyoleg.gov

POINTS OF CONCERN:

1) Wyoming will have to partner with enough states to achieve a total number of 1 million students tested in order to receive the estimated testing cost of $28.00/student.  This is not an accurate comparison to Wyoming’s current test, PAWS.  Furthermore, we still do not have a comprehensive cost analysis of SBAC to include; computer hardware, support staff, technology requirements & staff development/training.

Source:  http://wasawy.org/resources/Home/StateAssessment2015ANextGenerationAssessment.pdf (paragraph 2, page 6)

2) The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium received an additional $15.8 million dollar federal grant and is using it to develop ‘curriculum materials’, among other things.  Remember the local control  assurance that we were given upon adoption of common core: “this is standards, not curriculum”.

Source:http://www.ped.state.nm.us/AssessmentAccountability/AssessmentEvaluation/dl11/SBAC%20Supplemental%20Funds%20release%202011-01-10.pdf

3) The Wyoming State Board of Education lists several disadvantages of SBAC, including loss of local control & “one more step to a national curriculum/CCSS”, etc. Why would we surrender state autonomy over our assessments that are used for Wyoming students and factor into Wyoming teacher accountability?

Source: http://edu.wyoming.gov/sf-docs/state-board-documentation/meeting-packet—october-7.pdf (page 11)\

As Wyoming citizens, our collective voice can make a difference. Thank you for taking the time to contribute your part in this endeavor. Please look for another action item from Wyoming Citizens Opposing Common Core next week.  The action items will be centered on issues with the federally funded assessment, Smarter Balanced at this time. We will continue this weekly effort until the committee meets in December.

 

Share Button